top of page

15 Hauntingly Beautiful Heartbreak Songs You’ve Never Heard But Need To Listen To


“And even if you walk away from me, I'll still be with you. Maybe when our hearts have healed we'll find some comfort then."

Wind In Sails is the solo project of Evan Pharmakis, a Rhode Island based singer-songwriter. I became a fan of Evan's back when he sang for a band I used to listen to, but this solo project of his is amazing. This particular song truly exemplifies what it means to try and move on from a past relationship, but how difficult that is when you're haunted by memories and your heart hasn't fully healed.

“I'm not ready to let go, cause then I'd never know what I could be missing. But I'm missing way too much. So when do I give up, what I've been wishing for?”

I haven't actually listened to any other songs by this artist (although I probably should!), nor do I know who he is, but to this day, this song gets to me. I can still barely hear this song without tearing up. It is so real, so relateable, and describes exactly what it's like when a relationship hits a major breaking point. Do you continuing to try and make a failing relationship work, or do you somehow let go and risk it to move on with your life?

“I still press your letters to my lips, and cherish them in parts of me that savor every kiss. I couldn't face a life without your lights. But all of that was ripped apart when you refused to fight.”

No one ever thinks of Slipknot when they think of heartbreak songs, but when this band slows it down, amazing things happen - like this song. Corey Taylor's voice is beautiful and haunting. And his talent of being able to go from heavy metal to this soft, sad song is incredible. Snuff is about everything it means to be in love, to give your entire self to someone, and to have it end in pain and suffering. It is the perfect heartbreak song.

“I could never point you out. Waste of space in a faceless crowd. Tell me what I have to say. If you know what's right then you'll walk away.”

Kings of Leon is really popular, but this song is new and I feel like not too many people have heard it yet. It carries with it a lot of meaning about love as well as other life struggles to be interpreted by the listener.

“You were my fire, so I burned til' there was nothing left of me. I, I touched your face, I held you close, til' I could barely breathe.”

I'll repeat myself: Corey Taylor's voice is beautiful and haunting. And here he is again in Stone Sour! I wish I had known about his talent earlier, because these songs could've helped me through some serious heartache when I was growing up. This song is about giving all you have to that one person who seems to keep tearing you down. The one person you'd do anything for, but they probably wouldn't do the same for you so you know you have to let go - you just don't know how.

"I would never lie to you, no. I felt you long after we were through, we were through. The plans I make still have you in them. Cause you come swimming into view, and I'm hanging on your words like I always used to do. The words they use so lightly, I only feel for you. I only know because I carry you around...in the background."

Throwing it way back with this one. I've always loved Third Eye Blind, but this is hands-down my favorite heartbreak song. Whenever I'd fight with an ex or when I went through a breakup, I always put this on repeat. It's tragic, it's real, and it's a beautifully sad song.

“Weep not for roads untraveled. Weep not for paths left alone. 'Cause beyond every bend is a long blinding end. It's the worst kind of pain I've known. Give up your heart left broken and let that mistake pass on. Cause the love that you lost wasn't worth what it cost. And in time you'll be glad it's gone.”

Known for their heavier stuff, but when LP slows it down, it has always been brilliant. This song isn't one of their mainstream ones, but it got me through so many darker times, I actually have some of the lyrics tattooed on my back. Roads Untraveled is all about accepting decisions you make in life, instead of thinking about what might have been - because you will just never know. It's about moving on and letting time heal your wounds, because you will look back one day and be grateful you walked away.

"I'll leave you alone, pack my bags and go home. There's something you should know - I won't stop till you know that I mean it. I'm waiting for you darling. I'm waiting for the one. I'm waiting for you darling. Just say it and nothing will stand in my way."

I’ve actually never heard of these guys until they came on one of my Pandora stations. This song is beautiful, and it's about waiting for that one person you want to call yours.

“I'm cornered in fire so break out the secrets. I hope you know that you were worth it all along. I'm tired, you're angry, and everyone looks blurry. I love you, I'm leaving; so long.”

I heard this band for the first time a few months ago and ended up buying their album. In the album, they explain how this song is all about completely f****** up a good relationship.

“Oh, what do you wanna hear? Do you wanna know how many times I tore myself apart cause' you're not here? Oh, what do you wanna know? Does it make you feel alive? I had to die to finally let you go.”

Another one from Stone Sour, but this song is truly heartbreaking. The imagery in the lyrics really paints a picture of loving someone so much that a part of you dies when you lose them.

“I go home to the coast it starts to rain I paddle out on the water, alone. Taste the salt and taste the pain, I'm not thinking of you again. Summer dies and swells rise. The sun goes down in my eyes. See this rolling wave, darkly coming to take me home. And I've never been so alone. And I've never been so alive.”

Okay, so a few of you may have heard this one. It's not one of their mainstream tracks, but it is essentially one of the greatest relationship-ending songs of all time. It is so empowering - It’s about feeling the most alone you may have ever felt in your life, but at the same time, feeling the most alive.

“It's my house and I think it's time to get out. It's my soul, it isn't yours anymore. It's my house and I think it's time to get out. Yeah, I think it's time to get out. Haven't you heard? I'm not yours anymore.”

This band is still pretty up and coming, and I’ve been a fan for a while. Her voice is so, so powerful. This song is chilling, in the sense of trying to get your life back after your toxic relationship has finally ended, but still feeling haunted by that person. Wind in Sails, who I’ve mentioned in this article, has a beautiful cover to this song that is softer and slower, check it out here.

“I want you, and I always will. I wish I was worth. But I know what you deserve. You know I'd rather drown than to go on without you. But you're pulling me down.”

I don’t know too many songs by this artist, but this one is brilliant. It defines those times when we may feel disconnected from the person we love the most. Did I mention GOT's Arya Stark is the star of the music video, too?

“With this love like a hole, swallowed my soul, dragging me down. And I swear I'll stay with you. But I just can't forgive you. And I'll never be whole again.”

I listened to this band way back in the day before they became popular. But this song always stuck with me. It was one of their very first songs, and it perfectly describes all the games that are sometimes when people love, but then hurt, each other.

“And it's never been easy to leave. And you're never too far from my mind. While waiting I'll search for you in dreams, just to pass the time.”

If you haven’t listened to Wind in Sails yet, you need to, so here is another song for you to try. This is the song that made me fall in love with this solo project. I used to play it over and over and over. It's a story about love and heartache, and reminds you that you're not alone in the pain you feel.

bottom of page